Chocolate Mousse, a Family Recipe

Whenever I think about chocolate mousse the first image that comes to my head is a photo from my childhood. I was problaby 2 or 3 years old with blond curly hair tied in two little pony tails, standing at the table, on top of a chair eating a bowl of chocolate mousse to the point of  staying with my lips filled with chocolate!! I looked like a clown with his thick red lips with only one small difference mine were chocolate lips, very sweet and dark🙂

This dessert is simple, easy and absolutely delicious…. without a doubt my favorite dessert!

I always follow the recipe that is in my great-grandmother’s cookbook, my family bible when it comes to sweets recipes. It’s not a recipe like many others, it has some minor quirks which I will now reveal. First, the chocolate has to be from a specific brand – Belleville – why? because my mom says it’s the best and second, I don’t use butter, the recipe don’t mention it and I follow it religiously. I much trust and appreciate my mother’s directions because besides being my cookery teacher, she also learned from the best teacher, my great-grandmother.

Now that the secrets are revelead it’s time for the recipe:

Ingredients:
4 eggs
4 tablespoons of white sugar
chocolate bar (200g)
pinch of salt
First separate the yolks from the whites, adding a pinch of salt to this last one. Beat the egg whites until firm and leave it to rest. In the meantime, melt the chocolate in a bain-marie. Beat the egg yolks with the sugar until it double the volume and become with a more “pale” look or until you start seeing little bubbles on the dough. (My mom says this is the most important part because according to her “if the eggs are beaten well, the mousse will be more fluffy”) Add the melted chocolate to the previous mixture, stirring slowly and at last add the egg whites. Wrap only the egg whites in the chocolate mixture, don’t stir too much.
And voilá!!! Bon appétit🙂
  

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Mousse, a Family Recipe

  1. Wonderful web site. A lot of useful info here. I’m sending it to a few buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you for your sweat!

Leave a Reply

